No one has ever become poor from giving

https://www.facebook.com/XplicitNationTV/videos/816838985032115/?pnref=story

In this social experiment an actor pretends to be a homeless man and instead of asking for money from those walking by he instead attempts to give those same people money. At the beginning of the video he raises a very good question: In today’s society it is socially acceptable for the wealthy to give money to the homeless. Is it socially acceptable because it’s one individual helping another? Or because one individual is better than another?

After watching the video it’s hard to think that it’s socially acceptable because it’s one individual helping another. I feel that majority of people in our society give money to the homeless to make themselves feel better about themselves and make them feel as if they are better than the person they are giving the money to.

I know for myself personally, when I give money to a homeless person it is not so I can make myself feel better or so I can seem like I am better than them, I do it to simply help a fellow human out who is going through a struggling time.

Watching this video I am just disgusted by some of the comments that come out of people’s mouths, especially the guy at the end of the video. I am even slightly disgusted by the one girl in the video who originally said she didn’t have any money but once he offered her the money she had some change to give away.

After you watch this video think to yourself why you give money to the homeless. Is it to simply help someone out or is it because you’re better than that person?

Leave a comment