Finally Settling In

Kenyan Sunrise

This picture does not do the view justice, but I still cannot believe that this was the view I got to wake up to every morning. After almost 3 days of travelling I finally arrived to the amazing community of Pimbiniet where I would be living for the next 2 weeks. After almost 4 years of being involved with Free the Children and dreaming about a trip like this it was incredible to be finally stepping foot into one of the communities Free the Children works so closely with. Seeing the school where I would be working for the next two weeks helping build a school was another amazing opportunity. DSCN0201 Finally being able to see one of the pillars Free the Children has been working so hard to install was unreal and something I had only imagined. As we were at the school we met a couple of children from the community. It was incredible to finally be interacting with the children as working with the children was one of the things I was looking forward to the most. Seeing the school was the first part of realizing not only how important education is, but also how grateful us as Canadians should be for the opportunity we are given in regards to education. I know many times I have complained about school, the work, how much it costs, etc. but I began to realize that I am lucky to be able to complain about things like that because it means that I have the opportunity to attend school without barriers.

Leave a comment